Level 1 

Peng Qi Guan Ding Fa - Lift Qi Up Pour Qi Down

This is the first level of Zhineng Qigong dynamic methods. It is an external hunyuan stage practice. We use our minds to merge our human qi and information with the original hunyuan qi of the universe.  This merger and transformation happens outside of the body, thus it is an external hunyuan stage. Hunyuan qi now includes our human information. We draw it back into our bodies to utilize in our life activities. Level 1 practice follows the laws of the flow of blood and qi in the body. We focus on the three energy centers (dantian), specific energy gates and points, and the universe. Where our mind goes, qi follows. 

This method is very beneficial for healing ourselves, as well as learning how to send external qi to heal others. It consists of five parts: the opening sequence; sections 1, 2 and 3; and the closing sequence. 

Level 2

Xing Shen Zhuang - Body Mind Form

In this method the mind combines with the body and directs its movements with no thought to an external objective. Rather it focuses on internal observation with careful concentration. Thus it is an internal practice through which qi channels are opened, qi is mobilized and the body and mind transformed. It works on all parts of the body, stretching tendons and bones, improving health, strength and vitality. 

Body Mind Form includes opening and closing sequences similar to Level 1, and 10 sections which work individual areas of the body, from the head to the feet. 

Level 3

Wu Yuan Zhuang - Five Hunyuan Form

Also called Five Qi Return to One Form, Level 3 opens inner qi space to prepare for gathering qi, then practices inner organs qi to improve their functions. Each inner organ has its own movements, sounds and mudra, and each is associated with a particular emotion. The practice of Level 3 helps us to control and balance our emotions. This is very important because excessive emotion consumes a lot of energy and can lead to illness and disease. 

There are 3 parts which include 13 sections. Part 1 has 4 sections, to open inner space and help body and nature qi merge together; part 2 practices the 5 inner organs, one by one; and the last four sections, in part 3, help improve and transform inner organs qi, gathering qi into the center of the body to nourish body and mind. 


These are the first 3 of 6 levels in Zhineng Qigong. There are many additional methods, which will be introduced separately. Generally it is wise to begin with Level 1, to learn relaxation and become conscious of the qi field, to open inside space and gather qi, increase one's energy and improve its flow. We also can learn specific sections of Levels 2 & 3 depending on individual needs, like prescription medicine but without harmful side effects. 

Other basic and very important practices which can done by themselves include: La Qi - Pull Qi  (also called Open Close); San Xin Bing Zhang Zhuang - 3 Centers Merge Standing Form;  Xun Jing Dao Yin - Lead Qi Along the Channels;  Chen Qi - Stretch Qi;  Dun Qiang Gong - Wall Squats;  Roufu Lying Method - Abdominal Massage,  and much more. In short, there is something for everyone, and indeed anyone can benefit from Zhineng Qigong practice.